BALIST-2

BALIST

Satellite derived bathymetry

 

 

 

 

The Balist-2 program aims at developing a semi-automatized processing chain to produce satellite derived bathymetry maps for shallow waters. The implemented method relies on a radiative transfer model applied to the water column which can be adapted to many bottom types, coastal areas, with or without in situ data.

The objective of this project was to propose a bathymetry service to end-users (environment managers or coastal industries) looking for additional data for future projects or to analyze impacts of past events.

BALIST

 

 

Pilote sites

 

Coiba Island

 

 

Because of its exceptional biodiversity, the Coiba Island (Panama) is part of the UNESCO World Heritage sites since 2005. This remote area is scarcely mapped and local authorities lack the necessary means to monitor the evolution of its habitats at a sufficient frequency. In partnership with STRI (Smithsonian Tropical Research Institute), bathymetry and benthic habitats maps were produced on two selected pilot sites as a service demonstrator.

 

 

Bucco Reef

 

 

The Buccoo Reef site is located on the South-West of Tobago Island and harbors the largest coral reef of Trinidad-and-Tobago. This site underwent a growing anthropic pressure for the past years and was progressively invaded by macro-algaes. Thanks to a partnership with the University of Trinidad-and-Tobago, bathymetry and benthic habitats maps were produced on Buccoo Reef within BALIST-2 project.

 

 

Hérault Coastline

 

 

The Hérault coastline underwent in the past years many recurrent beach erosion and flooding events. Several recent initiatives have allowed reducing these impacts. On behalf of DREAL Occitanie, a service demonstrator was set within BALIST-2 project to produce a submarine morphology map of off-shore bars and to evaluate the ability of BALIST-2 processing chain to deliver operational time series of maps to monitor the temporal evolution of these sandy shallow structures.

Comments are closed

BALIST-2

BALIST

 Bathymétrie par image satellite

 

 

 

 

Le programme BALIST-2 a pour objet de développer une chaine de traitement semi-automatisée afin de produire à partir de données satellite des cartes de bathymétrie des petits fonds. La méthode mise en œuvre repose sur un modèle d’inversion du transfert radiatif dans la colonne d’eau et peut s’adapter à tous types de fonds, à tous types de littoraux, avec ou sans données in-situ.

L’objectif de ce projet est d’offrir à des utilisateurs finaux, gestionnaires et exploitants du littoral, un produit de cartographie de la bathymétrie littorale répondant à un besoin ponctuel futur ou à l’analyse d’impacts d’événements passés.

  

BALIST

 

 

 Sites pilotes

 

 Ile de Coiba

 

 

L’île de Coiba (Panama) est inscrite au patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO depuis 2005 en raison de l’exceptionnelle biodiversité présente sur l’ile et dans les eaux avoisinantes. Ce site éloigné est peu cartographié et le manque de moyen des autorités locales ne permet pas actuellement de suivre l’évolution de ces habitats à une fréquence suffisante, En collaboration avec le STRI (Simthsonian Tropical Research Institute), des cartes de bathymétrie et d’habitats benthiques ont été réalisées sur deux sites d’intérêt à Coiba sous la forme d’un démonstrateur de service.

  

 

 

 Bucco Reef

 

 

Le site de Buccoo Reef est situé au Sud-Ouest de l’Ile de Tobago et constitue avec près de 12 km² le plus grand récif corallien de Trinidad-et-Tobago. Ce site subit depuis plusieurs une pression anthropique grandissante et est progressivement envahi par des herbes marines indésirables. Grâce à une collaboration étroite avec l’Université de Trinidad-et-Tobago, une carte de bathymétrie et des habitats benthiques ont pu être produites sur Buccoo Reef dans le cadre de BALIST-2.

  

 

 

 Littoral de l’Hérault

 

 

Le littoral de l’Hérault connaît depuis de nombreuses années des phénomènes d’érosion de plages et des épisodes de submersion. Plusieurs initiatives récentes ont permis de limiter ces impacts. A la demande de la DREAL Occitanie, un démonstrateur de service a été mis en place dans le cadre de BALIST-2 pour établir une cartographie de la morphologie sous-marine des barres d’avant-côte et d’évaluer la capacités de la chaine de traitement BALIST-2 à fournir des séries de cartes opérationnelles pour évaluer à haute fréquence temporelle l’évolution des petits fonds.

  

Comments are closed